Board of Directors

Dr. Steve Van Horn served on the Lay (church focused) Ministry of Campus Crusade for Christ from 1972-78. He graduated from the International School of Theology, San Bernardino, CA,  in 1981 with an MDiv degree. He then served as a senior pastor for 15 years and an associate pastor for an additional 10 years. He earned his Doctor of Ministry (DMin) degree from Western Seminary, Portland, OR, in 1996. In 1998 Steve traveled to Africa to teach at the Nairobi International School of Theology for the first time. That trip was the beginning of his ministry in Africa. In 2003, after his fourteenth trip to Africa, he founded ITEM and became a half time pastor and half time missionary. In 2005 he left pastoral ministry to devote full time to his missionary work through ITEM.
Greg Gadeholt is a long-time associate of ITEM President Dr. Stephen Van Horn, first serving on the board of Faith Bible church where Dr. Van Horn pastored in the 1980s and 1990s. Mr. Gadeholt was also vice-chairman of the affiliated Christian school for several years. Following a merger with Calvary Chapel Worship Center in the 1990s, Mr. Gadeholt joined the board of the new church, where he continues to serve to this day. When the church supported Dr. Van Hornís launch of ITEM in 2003, Mr. Gadeholt became a founding board member of ITEM. Mr. Gadeholt retired from Intel in 2015 after spending many years in technical and managerial roles in the validation of several of the companyís flagship microprocessors. In his spare time, he enjoys spending time with his wife Irene and their children, and playing the French horn.
Chris Shepherd joined the Board in May of 2016 and brings many organizational and leadership skills to assist ITEM in its E4 strategy. Chris has served in management positions for three of his own companies, as well as with other corporations in the Energy and Banking industries. As a Project Management Professional (PMP), Chris assists ITEM with operations management and ministry coordination both in the U.S. and in Africa.